If you want to prevent anyone from making changes to an invoice or a credit note once it’s booked, you can enable a setting in your account. Read on to find out more about this feature!


How

First of all, only admins can enable this feature:

  1. Go to Settings > Invoices 

  2. At the top you find ‘Preferences’

  3. Enable the slider Booked invoices and credit notes can’t be edited


Note that this is an account setting: when enabled no user in the account can edit booked invoices/credit notes.


What

This option is useful if you want to make sure no changes are made to your invoice or credit note after you’ve booked it:

  • The content of a booked invoice or a credit note can’t be edited
  • A booked invoice or a credit note can’t be deleted

  • The layout of a booked invoice can’t be changed

  • The customer of a booked invoice can’t be changed

  • You can’t enter the PO number of a booked invoice

  • The currency of a booked invoice or credit note can’t be changed

  • The VAT rules of a booked invoice or credit note can't be changed


Note

If you're not completely sure about the content of an invoice and you still want to edit it later, then we advise you to not book it at first but save it as a draft.