This article describes functionality of our new project module. This module is being rolled out gradually, so it is possible you do not have access to the features described here yet. If that is the case, you can still find documentation on the previous project module here.
In Teamleader Focus, there are two levels to define the rights within a project. You can either limit the access to projects or you can assign different roles within a project.
Access rights to projects
Project user permissions
First of all, make sure every user has access to the project module. Within that project access, there are 3 different user permissions:
Navigate to Settings > Users > click on the name of a user
In 'Permissions', enable the toggle next to "Projects"
In 'Projects access' you'll see a dropdown menu:
Note that for admins of an account, access rights cannot be restricted.All: This user can see all projects. Whether they can also edit the project info depends on the edit rights set per project in the project preferences (cf. below).
Admin access: This user sees all projects and has the same rights as an admin or project owner.
Participant only: This is the default setting. This user only sees projects they are assigned to. Whether they can also edit the project info depends on the edit rights set per project in the project preferences (cf. below).
Financials on a project
In the above menu, you'll find that you can also disable access to financials on a project:
If the toggle is off, the following financial information on a project is hidden:
The whole Financials section in the side panels and project info
Price
Cost
Margin
Budget
Cost budget
Calculation tooltips
Unit price
Unit cost
The insights widgets on the project info
Amount billed column
Billing status column
Note: This setting does not include custom fields.
Costs on a project
You can disable access to the Margin widget on a project specifically by disabling the toggle ‘Show costs on projects’:
If the toggle is off, the user only sees ‘Budget spent’ and ‘Time tracked’ on the Project info page:
Roles within a project
After defining the access rights to the project module, you can decide which role a user should have within every project.
Go to a project
Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner
Choose Manage preferences
Note that this menu is only visible for admins and current owners of the projectA new dialog opens in which you can define the project access rights:
Owners only (selected by default)
Important note: even if the access rights are on 'Owners only', non-owners can still make changes if they have 'admin access to all projects' via the user permissionsOwners and assignees
Everyone
If you are a project owner, an admin or you have edit rights, you can perform the following actions:
Edit the fields in the project header
Edit the project title
Edit the project info fields
In the Invoices tab: click on the ‘Add Invoice’ button to invoice the project
Delete a project
Assign a colour code to the project
Add a note to the 'Activities' in the tab Project info
Add files
For users without edit rights:
The fields in the header, the project title and the project info fields are ‘view only’
It’s not possible to add an invoice to the project
It’s not possible to delete a project or assign a colour code to it
Adding a time tracking however is still possible
Filtering on work type or assignees is still possible as well
Files are 'view only'
Time tracking on a project
There is a user setting when it comes to allowing users to add time tracking on projects. Go to Settings > Users > click on the name of a user > 'Time tracking'. You'll see the following dropdown next to 'Time tracking projects access':
Here, you can define if a user can add time tracking on none of the projects, according to participation on the project or on all projects.
Next to that, this setting makes it also possible for users to track time on projects even if they don't have access to the project module.


