Skip to main content

How can I close a project?

Available on Move and Boost
Available on Smart, Grow and Flow with Project management


​

When a project is over and done with, you'll want to classify it as such. Not sure how to close a project? You’ve come to the right page. The ways to close a project in Teamleader Focus will be described here.


​

Via your project

There are two ways to close a project via your project page.


​

The first way to close a project is closing it directly from the project page:

  1. Navigate to your project

  2. Click on the three dots next to your project details

  3. Choose Close project
    ​
    ​

Notes:

  • Closing a project will also close all phases and mark their tasks as done. Meetings will remain open until manually marked as done.

  • It's also possible to close projects in bulk by navigating to the overview of your projects and creating a segment there. Next, you choose 'Close projects' and the projects you are allowed to close will be closed.


​

The second way to close a project is by closing all phases of your project:

  • Regardless of any open task that is linked to the project, when the phases linked to a project are marked as done, the project will be marked as ‘done’ as well.

  • Navigate to the work breakdown page of your project, hover over a phase and choose Close phase:
    ​
    ​

  • When every phase in a project is set to ‘Closed’, the project will be considered completed.
    ​

Via the project planning

(This feature is available in our Boost package)
​
​

You can also close a project via the project planning. Note that you can only do this when you have admin access to all projects. Follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Projects > Planning

  • Look for your project in the list

  • Click on the grey line next to the corresponding project:
    ​
    ​


    ​
    ​

  • Next, click on Mark project as completed:

  • This will close all phases and related tasks.


​

Reopen a project

There are two ways to reopen a project:

  1. Reopen it directly from the project page:

    • Navigate to your project

    • At the top of your project, you'll see a banner stating the project has been closed. Click on Reopen this project.

  2. Reopen the project by opening a phase of the project

    • Navigate to your project

    • Go to the work breakdown of your project

    • Click on the phase you want to reopen and choose Reopen

    • The project will automatically be reopened
      ​
      ​

Important note: reopening a project won't reopen the linked tasks or the meetings you manually marked as done. You'll need to reopen these manually if needed.


​

Check out this article to find out how to get an overview of all your finished projects.

Did this answer your question?